Don’t Give Up

Last year I did Belle’s 100 day sober challenge. I learned how to live without drinking. I was at the point that I didn’t think about drinking that much. However, I started believing that I could moderate when I would go to a social event that included wine. I ended up back at square one, drinking every day.

I know it is hard, but I know that I can get back to not thinking about drinking again if I just hang on. I’ve learned some “sober skills” that I just need to remember to utilize on a daily basis. One thing that I find very helpful is going to bed and getting rest. There is something very comforting to me about getting in bed when I am craving a drink. Before I give in and drink today, I am at least going to try something alternative first. Get some exercise, make an alternative drink, or just go to bed before I give in to the urge.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Give Up”

  1. thanks for this post, it’s such good advice. it’s amazing how much alternatives help, no matter how impossible the craving seems. Sometimes it disappears as quickly as it arose when you just start thinking of all the great reasons to not have a drink just yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I finally admited to myself that I will never be able to moderate. Even if I want to. Even if I try. I always lose this battle. So why even bother fighting it. I am on day 2. Again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

