I’m Still Here

There are so many things I on my mind and things to accomplish. Along with finishing my work for the school year, I am planning a small family gathering for my son’s graduation. For the kids at school, how can I make the most of few days with them. I work with middle school students with special needs and they are really awesome! A group of them are moving on to high school next schooI year. Tomorrow is our last day. For the graduation, I have a list of steps to accomplish – plan the food, decorate the table, clean the house, choose an outfit for the graduation. So far I have planned the food and chosen the outfit. Now I have to buy the food, decorate, clean house, cook, and the graduation is at noon day after tomorrow. What will my son enjoy?? Will it make him happy??  I try to tell myself that it doesn’t have to be perfect. I know I need to keep it simple, and for the most part I have. It’s not a big party, the house doesn’t have to be perfect, I’m picking up the barbeque, but making the sides. I want to make the cake from scratch, and make a center piece involving tens and twenties. 🙂

At least I’m still sober. But I need to take time to breathe, relax and continue to take care of myself. I’ve found myself in  more than one situation where it was a really close call as far as drinking. I really thought I might accept a glass of wine, but in a split second declined. as my new friend, Coming Clean, says, “I want to grow old with clarity of thought and serenity.”

2 thoughts on “I’m Still Here”

  1. I am 52, and eager to stop the pattern I have developed over the last many years. I wish to embrace clarity and clean living. Life is stressful. Wine does not help. I drink chilled herbal tea mixed with soda water. I don’t have a sweet tooth, so soda is out. day by day.

    Like

    1. I like the idea of chilled herbal tea with soda water. I have mixed a splash of juice in grapefruit Perrier, but I’ll have to try the chilled herbal tea. Personally, I have been eating a lot of sugar lately.

      Like

Leave a Reply

